Foundation For The Carolinas Governing Board

Foundation For The Carolinas' Governing Board is tasked with the full fiduciary responsibility of the Foundation, including asset development, management, and investment; development of business alliances and oversight of donor services. The board also provides vision for civic leadership and regional philanthropy.


Catherine P. Bessant, Chair
Global Technology and
Operations Executive
Bank of America

Ruth Shaw, Ph.D., Past Chair
Civic Leader

Angela Bower
Civic Leader

Ron Carter, Ph.D.
Johnson C. Smith University

Michael R. Coltrane
Retired CEO
CT Communications

Alan T. Dickson
Director and Former
Chairman of the Board
Ruddick Corporation

Harvey Gantt
Managing Partner
Gantt Huberman Architects

W. Barnes Hauptfuhrer
Chief Executive Officer
Chapter IV Investors

Chris Kearney
Chairman, President & CEO
SPX Corporation

Todd Mansfield
Civic Leader

Cynthia Marshall
State President
AT&T North Carolina

James E. Rogers
Chairman, President and CEO
Duke Energy

Laura Schulte
President, Eastern Region
Wells Fargo

Bertram Scott
President, U.S. Commercial, CIGNA Corporation

Lori Levine Sklut
Civic Leader

Tom E. Smith
Retired CEO
Food Lion


Governing Board Chair Catherine P. Bessant