2014 Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees was established to include community members who want to affect change in their community, provide needed skills and enjoy collaborating with other volunteers who have similar interests. Board members are informed about the needs in their community, the history and goals of their community foundation, and how to connect donors in their community to the services the community foundation can provide.

The board is responsible for conducting the activities of the community foundation, which include board/committee operations, communications, development, finance and grantmaking. The chair of the Community Foundation serves on the Board of Advisors of Foundation For The Carolinas.

Mike Rizer, Chair

Cammie Hauptfuhrer, Immediate Past Chair
Civic Leader

Mary Lou Babb
Community Leader

Brian Bailey
Carmichael Partners

Charles Bowman
Bank of America

Rusty Bryson
Cary Street Partners

Debra Campbell
Charlotte Mecklenburg Planning Department

Joni Davis
Duke Energy

Densel Fleming
Vintage Wealth Management

Carolyn Flowers
Charlotte Area Transit System

Arthur Gallagher
Johnson & Wales University

Dr. Ophelia Garmon-Brown
Novant Health

Holly Levinson
Community Volunteer

Sallie M. Lowrance
Civic Leader

Melissa McGuire

Mark Reed
Charlotte Country Day

Pat Riley
Allen Tate Realtors

Norberto Sanchez
Chairman and CEO of Norsan Group

Peter Smul
Red Ventures

Trustees Emeriti

William M. Barnhardt
Retired, Southern Webbing Mills

W.R. Cuthbertson, Jr.
Retired, BB&T


Board of Advisors

Foundation For The Carolinas' Board of Advisors is made up of the 13 regional affiliate community foundation board chairs. The board meets semi-annually to exchange information and ideas, discuss cross-community cooperation opportunities, and provide advice and counsel to Governing Board.

Patricia K. Horton
Cabarrus County Community Foundation

Michael P. Rizer
Charlotte Mecklenburg Community Foundation

J. Rick Patterson
Cherokee County Community Foundation

Kathleen H. Wilson
Cleveland County Community Foundation

Edward L. Marxen
Iredell County Community Foundation

Audrey E. Curry, Jr. 
Lancaster County Community Foundation

Robert A. Team, Jr.
Lexington Area Community Foundation

Rosalind N. Welder
Lincoln County Community Foundation

Alden B. Webb
Foundation For Richmond County

J. Steven Fisher
Salisbury Community Foundation

Chris Bramlett
Stanly County Community Foundation

Judith F. Kennedy
Union County Community Foundation

Frederick W. Faircloth IV
York County Community Foundation

To obtain more information about the Charlotte Mecklenburg County Community Foundation, contact:

Brian Collier
Executive Vice President